VBM logo

The CMM Model

share this page

Articles  |  Books  |  Dictionary  |  Faq  |  Home  |  Leaders  |  Organizations  |  Search

Capability Maturity Model

Summary of the CMM Model. Abstract


The CMM Model is an organizational model that describes 5 evolutionary stages (levels) in which an organization manages its processes.


CMM describes 5 evolutionary stages in which an organization manages its processes. The thought behind the model, originally developed for software development, is that an organization should be able to absorb and carry its software applications. The model also provides specific steps and activities to get from one level to the next.

The 5 stages of the CMM Framework are:

1. Initial (processes are ad-hoc, chaotic, or actually few processes are defined)

2. Repeatable (basic processes are established and there is a level of discipline to stick to these processes)

3. Defined (all processes are defined, documented, standardized and integrated into each other)

4. Managed (processes are measured by collecting detailed data on the processes and their quality)

5. Optimizing (continuous process improvement is adopted and in place by quantitative feedback and from piloting new ideas ands technologies)

CMM is useful not only for software development, but also for describing evolutionary levels of organizations in general and in order to describe the level of Value Based Management that an organization has realized or wants to aim for.

Book: James R. Persse - Implementing the Capability Maturity Model

Book: Mary Beth Chrissis - CMMI : Guidelines for Process Integration and Product Improvement

👀TIP: On this website you can find much more about Capability Maturity Management!

Compare with the Capability Maturity Model:  People CMM  |  Balanced Scorecard  |  Baldrige Award  |  EFQM  |  Change Approaches  |  Organizational Learning  |  Kaizen

More management models

About us | Advertise | Privacy | Support us | Terms of Service

2023 Value Based Management.net - All names tm by their owners